Explore daily and domestic life in working class Belleville at the Emma Kunz House.
Built in 1851 for plasterer Jacob Krill and his wife Nancy, the Emma Kunz House stands as a prime example of a “German Street House.” Brick cottages such as these were favored by the German immigrant laborers who lived and worked in Belleville over 150 years ago.
The house was saved from demolition in 1972 and donated to the STCCHS, which moved it to its current location (602 Fulton Street in Belleville) and extensively renovated it. It was opened to the public as a museum in 1978.
Named for Emma Kunz, the last resident of the house, the house recreates working class life in nineteenth century Belleville. Featured rooms include:
In 2017, STCCHS Life Member Mardy Eisloeffel completely restored the 1874 Clough & Warren parlor organ at the Emma Kunz House. The organ came to us in 1986, but had never been in working condition.
In this video, we see Mardy talk briefly about the restoration and we also hear a short recital by local organist (and STCCHS Member) Dennis Dvorachek.